Jury announced for 2022 Lionel Gelber Prize

January 11, 2022

Janice Stein will chair an international jury of experts for the 2022 Lionel Gelber Prize, which is awarded annually to the best non-fiction book in English on foreign affairs. 

This year’s jury features jury chair Janice Stein (Toronto, Canada), Janine di Giovanni (New York), Francis J. Gavin (Washington, D.C.), James Goldgeier (Washington, D.C.), and Doug Saunders (Toronto, Canada).

“The Lionel Gelber Prize was created to deepen public debate on significant international issues,” said Judith Gelber, Chair of the Lionel Gelber Prize board. “For more than thirty years, the prize has highlighted some of the world’s most important non-fiction books on foreign affairs, on topics ranging from security and inequality to the rise of authoritarianism and the future of democracy. We are delighted to welcome this year’s esteemed jurors.”

The jury will announce its shortlist of five books on February 8, 2022, followed by the release of podcast interviews with each of the finalists. The winner will be revealed on April 12, 2022 and will take part in an online event co-sponsored by Foreign Policy and the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy.

Learn more about this year’s jury.