For Immediate Release: January 3, 2018 (Toronto and Washington): Patricia Rubin, Chair of the Lionel Gelber Prize and The Lionel Gelber Foundation, and Randall Hansen, Interim Director of the Munk School of Global Affairs, are pleased to announce the Jury for the 2018 Prize:

The Jury for the 2018 Lionel Gelber Prize is as follows:

  • Professor Janice Gross Stein, Jury Chair (Toronto, Canada)
  • Professor Ramachandra Guha (Bengaluru, India)
  •  Professor Desmond King (Oxford, England)
  •  Dr. David M. Malone (Tokyo, Japan)
  •  Professor Jeannette Money (California, USA)

“Created in memory of the Canadian scholar, diplomat and author Lionel Gelber, we are gratified that the Prize attracts such distinguished jurors, year after year,” said Ms. Rubin, niece of the late Lionel Gelber.

Key Dates:

The Jury will announce its shortlist of five books on Tuesday, January 30. The winner of the 2018 Lionel Gelber Prize will be announced on Tuesday, February 27, 2018.

In partnership with Focus Asset Management, podcast interviews with each of the shortlisted authors in conversation with Professor Robert Steiner will be posted in February. The winner will be invited to speak at a free public event at the Munk School of Global Affairs at the University of Toronto in April.

About the Prize:

The Lionel Gelber Prize, a literary award for the world’s best non-fiction book in English on foreign affairs that seeks to deepen public debate on significant international issues, was founded in 1989 by Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber. A cash prize of $15,000 is awarded to the winner. The award is presented annually by The Lionel Gelber Foundation, in partnership with Foreign Policy magazine and the Munk School of Global Affairs.

Learn more about this year’s jury.