People

The Munk School’s faculty members are exceptional leaders, teachers and researchers.

The School is home to more than 60 faculty members, academic directors, and named chairholders, and a wide range of cross-appointed and affiliated faculty from across the University of Toronto. View the Munk School’s faculty members and academic directors below or view the full Munk School directory here.

Robert Austin

Associate Director, CERES
Professor; Teaching Stream, Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies
Graduate Student Coordinator

Location:

Room 126N, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-8942
robert.austin@utoronto.ca

Yaprak

Yaprak Baltacioglu

Professor of Public Policy, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Steven Bernstein

Steven Bernstein

Distinguished Professor, Global Environmental and Sustainability Governance
Professor, Political Science
Co-Director, Environmental Governance Lab

Location:

Room 268S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 4169465569
steven.bernstein@utoronto.ca
www.munkschool.utoronto.ca/egl

Nancy Bertoldi

Associate Professor, cross-appointed in Political Science and Trudeau Centre for Peace, Conflict and Justice

Location:

Room 3123, 100 St. George St

Contact:

T 416-946-0181
nancy.bertoldi@chass.utoronto.ca

Jacques Bertrand

Director, Collaborative Master’s Specialization in Contemporary East and Southeast Asian Studies
Professor of Political Science

Location:

Room 264S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-8985

Dan Breznitz

Co-Director of the Innovation Policy Lab
Munk Chair of Innovation Studies

Location:

Room 361S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-0584
ipl.codirector@utoronto.ca

Shiri Breznitz

Shiri M. Breznitz

Director, Master of Global Affairs Program
Associate Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy
Faculty, American Studies
Affiliated Faculty, CSUS

Location:

Room 368S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-5225
shiri.breznitz@utoronto.ca

Mel Cappe

Professor

Contact:

T 416-978-2875
mel.cappe@utoronto.ca

Francis Cody

Francis Cody

Director, Dr. David Chu Program in Contemporary Asian Studies
Associate Professor, Asian Institute/Centre for South Asian Studies and Department of Anthropology, UTM

Location:

Room 269S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-8988
F 416-946-8915
francis.cody@utoronto.ca

Jonathan Craft

Jonathan Craft

Associate Professor, Political Science, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

Ron Deibert by Riley Stewart

Ronald Deibert

Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy and Department of Political Science
Director, Citizen Lab

Michael Donnelly

Assistant Professor, Political Science, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Gabriel Eidelman

Assistant Professor/Urban Policy Lab Director, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Christoph Emmrich

Christoph Emmrich

Director, Centre for South Asian Studies
Associate Professor, Department for the Study of Religion

Location:

Room 106N, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T (416) 978-6463
christoph.emmrich@utoronto.ca

Drew Fagan

Drew Fagan

Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy
Affiliated Faculty Member, Centre for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies

Contact:

T 416-271-9635
drewfagan04@gmail.com

Todd Foglesong

Assistant Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

Diana Fu

Director, East Asia Seminar Series
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science

Location:

Room 3012, 100 St. George Street

Contact:

T 416-978-3334
F 416-978-5566
diana.fu@utoronto.ca
www.dianafu.org
twitter.com/dianafutweets

Takashi Fujitani

Director, Dr. David Chu Program in Asia-Pacific Studies (on leave 2020-21)
Professor, Department of History

Location:

Room 224N, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-8995
t.fujitani@utoronto.ca

Jonathan Hall

Assistant Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Randall Hansen

Director, Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies
Director, Global Migration Lab
Professor, Political Science

Stephan Heblich

Munk Chair in Applied Economics

Location:

1 Devonshire Place, Room 354S (South House)

Contact:

stephan.heblich@utoronto.ca
sites.google.com/view/stephanheblich

Matthew Hoffmann

Professor, Political Science
Co-Director, Environmental Governance Lab

Location:

Sid Smith 3110

Contact:

T 416-978-7041
mjhoff@utsc.utoronto.ca
matthewhoffmann.wordpress.com

Rajshri (Raji) Jayaraman

Associate Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy and Department of Economics
Affiliated Faculty, Centre for South Asian Studies

Location:

1 Devonshire Place, Room 366S

Contact:

T 416-978-1727
r.jayaraman@utoronto.ca
sites.google.com/view/rajijayaraman/home

Andres Kasekamp

Professor, Department of History
Chair of Estonian Studies, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy;
Affiliated Faculty, Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies

Location:

Room 254S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-8931
andres.kasekamp@utoronto.ca

Rie Kijima

Assistant Professor
Affiliated Faculty, CSGJ

Location:

1 Devonshire Place, Room 255S

Contact:

T 416-946-5420
rie.kijima@utoronto.ca
www.riekijima.com

Teresa Kramarz

Associate Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy
Director, Munk One
Co-Director, Environmental Governance Lab

Location:

Room B211, 315 Bloor Street West

Contact:

T 416-946-8825
F 416-946-8877
teresa.kramarz@utoronto.ca
www.teresakramarz.com

Kory Kroft

Kory Kroft

Associate Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

Contact:

T 416-978-4355
kory.kroft@utoronto.ca
korykroft.com

Yoonkyung Lee

Director, Centre for the Study of Korea
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology
Korea Foundation Endowed Chair of Korean Studies

Location:

Room 342, 725 Spadina Avenue

Contact:

T 416-978-4783
yoonkyung.lee@utoronto.ca

Ron Levi

Ron Levi

Associate Director, Academic
Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy and Department of Sociology
Distinguished Professor of Global Justice
Director, Global Justice Lab
Secretary, Law and Society Association

Location:

315 Bloor Street West, Room 213

Contact:

T 416-978-2486
ron.levi@utoronto.ca
individual.utoronto.ca/ronlevi

Jon Lindsay

Jon R. Lindsay

Assistant Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

Location:

Room 219, 315 Bloor Street West, at the Observatory

Contact:

T 416-946-8866
jon.lindsay@utoronto.ca
www.jonrlindsay.com

Phillip Lipscy

Phillip Lipscy

Associate Professor, Department of Political Science and Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy
Chair in Japanese Politics and Global Affairs
Director, Centre for the Study of Global Japan
Affiliated Faculty, CSUS and Asian Institute

Location:

1 Devonshire Place, Room 262S

Contact:

phillip.lipscy@utoronto.ca
www.lipscy.org

Peter Loewen

Peter Loewen

Associate Director, Global Engagement
Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy
Professor, Department of Political Science
Affiliate, Centre for the Study of the United States

Mark Manger

Mark Manger

Associate Professor of Political Economy and Global Affairs

Contact:

T 416-946-8927
mark.manger@utoronto.ca

Janet Mason

Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

Contact:

T 416-946-7778
janet.mason@utoronto.ca

Anita McGahan

University Professor and George E. Connell Chair in Organizations and Society
Rotman School of Management Professor
Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

Location:

Room B219, 315 Bloor Street West

Contact:

amcgahan@rotman.utoronto.ca
rotman.utoronto.ca/anita.mcgahan

Cheryl Misak

Cheryl Misak

Interim Director, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

Contact:

Executive Assistant: Ana Cardoso (ana.cardoso@utoronto.ca)

Lynette Ong

Lynette Ong

Associate Professor, Department of Political Science and Asian Institute

Darius Ornston

Darius Ornston

Associate Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy
Affiliated Faculty, Centre for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies

Location:

1 Devonshire Place, Room 359S

Contact:

darius.ornston@utoronto.ca
twitter.com/ornston

Ito Peng

Ito Peng

Professor and Canada Research Chair in Global Social Policy
Director, Centre for Global Social Policy
Department of Sociology, and Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Location:

725 Spadina Avenue

Contact:

T 416 946 5902
itopeng@chass.utoronto.ca

Wilson Prichard

Associate Professor, Master of Global Affairs
Associate Professor, Political Science
CEO, International Centre for Tax and Development

Location:

315 Bloor Street West, room 212

Contact:

wilson.prichard@utoronto.ca
sites.google.com/site/wilsonprichard

James Radner

Assistant Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Contact:

T 416-946-0303
james.radner@utoronto.ca

Alexandra Rahr

Bissell-Heyd Lecturer in American Studies, Centre for the Study of the United States

Location:

Room 326N, Munk School, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

alexandra.rahr@utoronto.ca

John Robinson

Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Location:

Room 258S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416.918.7977
johnb.robinson@utoronto.ca

Paola Salardi

Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy
Director, Trudeau Centre for Peace, Conflict and Justice

Location:

Room 259S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-8918
paola.salardi@utoronto.ca
sites.google.com/site/paolasalardi

Nicholas Sammond

Nic Sammond

Director, Centre for the Study of the United States + American Studies Program
Professor, Cinema Studies Institute

Location:

Innis College, Room 231, 2 Sussex Ave.

Contact:

T 416-978-7271
csus.director@utoronto.ca; nic.sammond@utoronto.ca

Edward Schatz

Acting Director, Centre for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies
Director, Eurasia Initiative
Director, Belt and Road in Global Perspective

Location:

Room 204N, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-8965
ed.schatz@utoronto.ca

Ayelet Shachar

Ayelet Shachar

Professor of Law, Political Science, and Global Affairs
R. F. Harney Professor and Director of the Ethnic, Immigration and Pluralism Studies Program
University of Toronto Faculty of Law

Location:

Flavelle House Room 408 78 Queen\’s Park Toronto, Ontario M5S 2C5

Contact:

T 416-978-1620
ayelet.shachar@utoronto.ca
www.law.utoronto.ca/faculty-staff/full-time-faculty/ayelet-shachar

Rachel Silvey

Richard Charles Lee Director, Asian Institute
Professor, Department of Geography

Location:

1 Devonshire Place, room 225N

Contact:

ai.director@utoronto.ca

Sean Speer

Assistant Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

Janice Stein

Janice Stein

Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy
Belzberg Professor of Conflict Management, Department of Political Science

Location:

315 Bloor Street West

Contact:

T 416-946-8908
F 416-946-8877
j.stein@utoronto.ca

Carolyn Tuohy

Carolyn Tuohy

Professor Emeritus and Distinguished Fellow, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Location:

Room 351, 14 Queen’s Park Cres. W.

Contact:

c.tuohy@utoronto.ca

Linda White

Professor, Political Science, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy

RBC Chair in Economic and Public Policy

Location:

Department of Political Science, Room 3061, 100 St. George Street

Contact:

T 416-978-2857
linda.white@utoronto.ca
politics.utoronto.ca/faculty/profile/7

David Wolfe

David Wolfe

Co-Director of the Innovation Policy Lab
Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy
Professor, Political Science UTM

Location:

Room 367S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-8922
F 416-946-8915
david.wolfe@utoronto.ca
munkschool.utoronto.ca/ipl

Joe Wong

Joseph Wong

University of Toronto’s Interim Vice President, International
Roz and Ralph Halbert Professor of Innovation, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy
Professor, Department of Political Science

Location:

Room 357S, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

T 416-946-7955
joe.wong@utoronto.ca
twitter.com/JosephWongUT

Yiching Wu

Associate Professor, Asian Institute and Department of East Asian Studies

Location:

Room 104N, 1 Devonshire Place

Contact:

yiching.wu@utoronto.ca

Dan Zuberi

Daniyal Zuberi

Director, Master of Public Policy Program
Professor of Social Policy; Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy and Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work

Location:

#430, 246 Bloor St. W.

Contact:

T 416- 978-3264
daniyal.zuberi@utoronto.ca
socialwork.utoronto.ca/profiles/daniyal-zuberi