Adam Tooze wins the Lionel Gelber Prize for Crashed

The Lionel Gelber Prize

Literary award for the world’s best non-fiction book in English on foreign affairs

The Lionel Gelber Prize

The Lionel Gelber Prize is a literary award given annually to the best non-fiction book in international affairs published in English. The prize was founded in 1989 by Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber and seeks to deepen public debate on significant international issues, The award is presented annually by the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy at the University of Toronto.

2022 Lionel Gelber Prize Winner

The American War in Afghanistan - book cover

The winner of the 2022 Lionel Gelber Prize is The American War in Afghanistan: A History by Carter Malkasian, published by Oxford University Press.

From the Jury: “After two decades and four presidential administrations, America finally ended its war in Afghanistan. There is little doubt about the outcome: the United States spent twenty years pouring blood, sweat and treasure into a frustrating and complex war — one that it ultimately lost. In The American War in Afghanistan: A History, noted historian and former adviser to American military commanders in Afghanistan Carter Malkasian offers an extraordinary view into the dynamics of that led to America’s withdrawal and the Taliban’s return to power. Deeply researched and beautifully written, Malkasian’s account draws on primary sources and takes the reader through the complicated political, military and socio-cultural forces that shaped America’s longest war.”